Postcards to my grandmother
Home; NSWVictoriaWASAQLDSouth AfricaUK
Cape Town Harbour
#440 - Cape Town Docks and Table Mountain
#429 - The Harbour, Cape Town
Cape Town was also known as “The Cape of Good Hope” as well as “The Cape of Storms”.  Britain captured Cape Town in 1795, but the Cape was returned to the Netherlands by treaty in 1803. British forces occupied the Cape again in 1806 following the battle of Bloubergstrand. In the Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1814, Cape Town was permanently ceded to Britain. It became the capital of the newly formed Cape Colony, whose territory expanded very substantially through the 1800s. With expansion, came calls for greater independence from Britain, with the Cape attaining its own parliament in 1854, and a locally accountable Prime Minister in 1872.
Suburban Cape Town
Adderley Street
City Streets
Sea Point
Camps Bay & Clifton
Kloof Nek
Mountains - Table Mt, Lions Head
Cape Town