Stamp

 

Postcards from 100 years ago

 

 

Transvaal is a geographic term associated with land north of (i.e., beyond) the Vaal River in modern-day South Africa. Many states and administrative divisions have carried the name Transvaal.  

·        South African Republic or "Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek" (1856–1877 and 1881–1902), sometimes called the Transvaal Republic in English 

·        Transvaal Colony (1877–1881 and 1902–1910), British colony 

·        Transvaal Province (1910–1994), province of the Union and Republic of South Africa 

 Now, a large portion of the Transvaal is known as Gauteng Province.

 

 

Pritchard Street, Johannesburg

Pritchard St

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                                                               Pretorius Street, Pretoria

Pretorius Street

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Rand Club in Comissioner Street, Johannesburg.

Cecil John Rhodes checked samples of the gold bearing rock and was satisfied with the results. He asked Dr Hans Sauer, the first district surgeon of Johannesburg, to return to the Rand and obtain options for ground. In December 1886 after completing some business, Rhodes suggested to Sauer that they should take a walk and select a site for a club. After wandering about for some time Rhodes suddenly stopped and said “This corner will do for the club”. It was at the point where Commissioner street met a street running from Marshall’s township into Market Square. The chosen area consisted of four stands and Sauer was instructed to find out who these stands belonged to and buy them. Sauer discovered that two of the stands belonged to a certain Ikey Sonnenberg, a financier and speculator. Sauer told him that Rhodes wanted to buy the stands as a site for a mens’ club, and Sonnenberg immediately offered Rhodes his two stands as a gift for this purpose. The other two stands belonged to a certain H.B.Marshall, a Scotsman. Sauer had to pay Marshall the full £72 for his two stands. The stand numbers were 185 186,189 and 190. The first club was built with shares of £10 bought by every candidate wishing to become a member of the club and thus the money required for building the club house was raised. The first club consisted of one ground floor and was built of brick and thatched. It served its purpose for 18 months at which point it was levelled and a more commodious Club House was erected.
Comissioner Street 21st century
The second Club House was built on the same place as the first and was a two-storey structure. It accommodated a bar, billiard room, large dining room, four small rooms, a kitchen, scullery and various offices. The members took possession of the second Club House on February 1, 1890.

Close upThe present building was occupied in December of 1904   

 

355 Smit Street 

 Smit Street - Braamfontein 

 

327 Loveday Street - Johannesburg

Loveday Street - Johannesburg

 354 Siemert Street

 

Top

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Siemert Street                                       

 

   Contact Us

   Privacy Policy

   Site Map